Daniel Rubright, M.F.A., Musical Director

Adding to the mix of the multi talented Rubright family is the gifted Emmy-Award winning musician and composer, Daniel Rubright. Dan scored the music for the documentary, Oh Freedom After While, which garnered him a Regional Emmy Award. Additionally, he penned the theme song for The Uncommon Story with Donna Linn now airing on As a guitarist and composer, Dan works in many genres, including jazz, rock, classical, experimental and world music.

He has performed with the St. Louis Symphony, the Fox Theater Orchestra, Opera Theater of St. Louis and the St. Louis Municipal Opera. Dan commissioned and co-wrote a new 4 movement musical/multi piece entitled, Walls, which premiered at the new Contemporary Art Museum in St. Louis. The concert also featured internationally renowned violin virtuoso, Anne Akiko Meyers. Dan was composer for the film, 12, produced by Lloyd Silverman, who co-produced the Academy Award Winning Snow Falling on Cedars. 12 was featured in November 2003 at the Hollywood Film Festival and debuted at the St. Louis International Film Festival as well.

Dan’s solo album, Avenue X, received critical acclaim and was recorded and mixed by bass player Peter Mayer from the Jimmy Buffett’s Coral Reefer Band. Buffet drummer Roger Guth was also featured on the album. Other collaborations with Peter Mayer include the recent Beatles and Beyond concert performed at the Orpheum Theater in St. Louis. Additional albums (with musical partner Steve Schenkel) are What Wondrous Love, Whole New Light and Lone Wild Bird.

Dan is currently Professor of Music at Webster and Maryville Universities, where one of his favorite courses is songwriting. He continues his work as creative consultant for film, sitcoms and documentaries as well as musical director for To get in the mood with Dan, download one of his podcasts at looks forward to making beautiful music with you, Dan!